Getting Back to Reading

Just finished a wonderful short story (they’re all I have time for lately) called The New Man by Luis Loayza, a Peruvian writer.  I haven’t been able to find out much about him, but at some point he was a translator for the United Nations in Geneva.  I’m trying to track down some of his collections, but I think they’re almost all in Spanish, and those would take me  forever to read.

Strange, in college I used to take such a critical approach to reading.  I’ve distanced myself from that, which feels like I’ve distanced myself from serious thought.  I don’t read to parse through and create new ideas, I read, like most of us, for simple pleasure.  One particular downside of that is that I rarely remember for long what I have read.  Once I had wanted to be able to summon passages and quotations from works famous and obscure, but I no longer have anyone to impress.  I’m worried that this also means I no longer have any ideas to follow or believe in.  Reality has without my knowing it become day to day, and there are no large future landscapes to dream of inhabiting.  Blogging is a symptom and cause of this — it’s time spent summing up the days, hoping that down the road someone might detect a theme in this cotidian chatter.

3 thoughts on “Getting Back to Reading

  1. Rasheed,

    Nobody to impress…. No matter — you impress me all the time.

    Maybe once we pass through the “I’ll make them oooh n ahhh!” phase, we are more free to do what we enjoy most (unless what we enjoy most is impressing people – and, in that case, you’re screwed.) When you do what you enjoy, you impress the people who matter most.

    Time for that precious Saturday morning cup of coffee,
    Michael

  2. No one to impress? Sad, but very common. No ideas to follow? I don’t think so. We’re always following an idea of ourselves.

  3. Hi, I’m a peruvian student, and nowadays I’m studying Luis Loayza. You have said that there aren’t many works of Luis Loayza in english. Maybe I could help you trying to traslate some works of him. My english is not very good, but I will do an effort in order to practice my english 🙂

Leave a Reply

