We should have called him Q’ool

One of the better ideas I had was to try and teach my not quite 2-year-old concepts rather than words. Symbols and metaphors rather than realist descriptors. A good example came a few months ago, when I put on my pair of circa 1999 silver snowboarder sunglasses and said to him, “superstar.” He repeated the word, but I wondered if he really got it. Recently he rummaged through a drawer and brought the sunglasses to me to put on.

‘Superstar, daddy?’ he instructed.

‘Yes,’ I said, putting them over my eyes for a moment. ‘Now you try.’

He put on the glasses silently, his chin pointing up at my face. Then he turned and walked away.

‘I look great,’ he said.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

