If I Married a Pedal Steel Player

Sometimes you shouldn’t underestimate the power of a live performance.  Some months ago I had a chance to see Langhorne Slim at the Rock and Roll Hotel, a small, DC locale.  Since then I’ve  been drawn fully into the alt.country motif, so much so that I’ve begun thinking how good life could be if I married a pedal steel player.  Last night I spent a Sunday evening seated, taking a trip through blues, honkytonk, and that old Americana that is so fashionable overseas and just so worth listening to.  Justin Townes Earle, with friends on the fiddle and upright bass, dressed in a bow-tie and skinny suit, blew me away.  Or blew me further away, because I was pretty far gone after listening to Joe Pug, who opened with his guitar and yes, a friend on the pedal steel. The thing about alt.country is that it’s much closer to poetry than other genres.  And it feels American, weighted by baggage and influence.  And sometimes it’s just about songwriters being songwriters in their own quirky, tattooed, lamb chop sideburns way, providing life’s answers much better than I could in writing.  You can listen here or just watch.

Langhorne Slim “I Love You But Goodbye”.

http://yourstru.ly/

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Justin Townes Earle @ Mercy Lounge in Nashville, TN January 27th 2010

Vodpod videos no longer available.
2 Comments

  1. I just saw the Balkan Beat Box at the 9:30 Club last night, not the same kind of alt.country genre, but similar in its purely American recombination of international styles and somehow brutal honesty.
    I admit I will miss the DC music scene when I finally get my first posting (my A-100 starts March 29).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

