The Death of a Foreign Service Officer

6 Apr

When I heard the initial reports that a State Department employee had been killed in Afghanistan, I sighed. And when I read the name and what I felt was a thoughtful message from the Secretary, I did what I suspect many of us do these days: I looked up the officer’s name on Facebook, guessing that someone young and in a place like Afghanistan was bound to have an account, a presence, through which she would share her experiences with her friends. I clicked on her name, saw her face, and realized that I knew her.

Or perhaps I didn’t know her, but only knew that I had seen her before. Seen her in the half-remembered days in-between my own assignments overseas. Seen her somewhere in the District or in Arlington at a ritualistic gathering of FSOs in a rented corporate apartment, drinks scattered on poorly made tables of blond wood or on pool furniture badly in need of new paint.  Seen her from time among bottles of continually passed-on wine and bags of snacks from Trader Joe’s and vegetable dips from Whole Foods, or standing in line in cafeterias. What I knew as well were the rhythms of her life as a Foreign Service Officer, that we had likely shared the same locations (airports, baggage carousels, shuttle buses) and dislocations (first nights in strange lands, language struggles, loneliness).

That is what I think I recognized. What I am certain I recognized was the smile, the aura of the under-30 crowd, the disarming ordinariness (as opposed to banality) and eagerness of our newest public servants. That aura seems to me the norm now at Foggy Bottom, and in much of the country, and it’s probably a sign of my age as much as an indication of the lure of Washington itself.

The truth is I didn’t know her, and make all sorts of assumptions, but from the few pictures she had posted (that were too heartbreaking to look at closely), I felt that she enjoyed a good evening out at one of DC’s many ale houses, or on trips to far-off cities that had been made much closer by her job.

And I saw too her own words beneath a posting, saying that she was looking forward to “shenanigans” when she was back in DC for training this coming July.

Shenanigans. Perhaps best defined as the line between youth and one’s mid-30s.

It was then that her death hit home, for she was also an officer in a position similar to one I had been in in the not too distant past. When, I recall, I rode in helicopters across contested valleys, and walked among both friends and probable enemies in markets and crowded spaces. When I entered a caravan noting the armored weight of the vehicle doors or felt the unsatisfying vibrations as we lifted off the ground from an airbase. When I thought daily, despite the importance and thrill of the work I was doing, about the moment I would come home.

What was new for me today, reading of the sad incomplete events and seeing her face, was that I, at the ripe old age of 13 years in the Foreign Service, could have been the one who made the decision to send her on the assignment, a public school book donation project in a province away from the capital. I could have been the one to sit with her and other colleagues some days earlier to discuss the strategy, the visuals, the preparations and coordination with the local government. This is because I’ve become a manager as I’ve moved along my career, as is the custom in the Foreign Service, and it would have been my job to make daily assignments, to direct our support, and to mentor and advise newer colleagues, like her. This thought brought its own heaviness. And so this time, for me, it was not enough to post a brief Facebook comment, or only change my profile photo to the black ribbon that perhaps too easily replaces our true sorrow.

I have been returning often of late to essays that seem to mock us about our shortened attention spans, our lost ability to write and speak in meaningful words, and our habit of ingesting bits of information and then moving on too quickly.

But there are too many parallels in her death with my life.  And more importantly, there are likely people I love, or have loved, or who I simply call friends, who are an arbitrary moment away from a tragedy like this. This young woman, this Foreign Service Officer, the whole of us, deserve just a little bit more reflection.

14 Responses to “The Death of a Foreign Service Officer”

  1. Myers April 6, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    I don’t know you (but having just hit the 13 yr mark myself, maybe I do)- but I knew her. I was her manager, on her first tour. I encouraged her to bid on that job, saying something glib like “they need good officers in Kabul.” They do. We do.

    This was not the death of an FSO for a great many of us who did know her. It was the death of a friend. She thought she could change the world, and now she will never know just how much she did.

    • Patriot April 7, 2013 at 6:11 am #

      Well put, I have known FSO’s having served in Baghdad, Iraq and another Austere Embassy location for the Army….. brave, heroic Americans helping people throughout the world…. a tagedy….. God rest her soul…..

  2. Nomads By Nature April 6, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Beautiful and poignant. I am posting a link to this on my blog if that is ok.

  3. klaufert April 7, 2013 at 6:24 am #

    I knew Anne. I’m a spouse, but I was part of that very small under 30 crowd while we were both posted in Caracas. Two years ago I went out with her and some other young women to celebrate her 23rd birthday. I was 26, and I remember that unlike most of our generation, she was truly optimistic and not the slightest bit jaded. As young as I was, I found that both impressive and alien. It gave her a glow. I have been crying all morning, because she was so lovely it seems impossible she could be taken this way. Because I went from that post to Rome, where I live with my husband and little boy. And one day in the not too distant future, I’m sure she too would have had a family of her own. She was robbed of this, and it’s so senseless it makes my head spin.

  4. Joy-Marie Snell April 7, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    a thoughtful, comment; while i did not know the woman, or you, your writing left a deep impression in my heart.
    thank-you
    Joy-Marie Snell – fs spouse retired

  5. Christy April 7, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    Thanks for writing this, as only you can. Beautiful reflection. I took the modern day shortcut and shared this earlier…and was deeply gratified to see so many others read it and share their thoughts as well. Thanks on behalf of us all.

  6. Don Mackay April 9, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    The sense of loss is shared by your colleagues in the Foreign Services of other countries as well, as we all have sought to serve our respective countries in foreign and sometimes distant lands. Don Mackay, Canadian Embassy, Washington DC.

  7. 3rdCultureChildren April 9, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    Thanks for your post, and your kind words, where no words seem to help us make some sense out of all of this. I’m too, am a spouse. This young girl came in as part of my husband’s A-100 class. My husband tells me she was probably the youngest one from the class, and him, being with State for several years before switching over to the FS, seemed thrilled that somebody so young would’ve been determined to become an Officer – which she did. And she did well. I agree she’s been robbed her future, a life partner, a possible family… We’re all in this to make a difference, even though, sometimes, most of us have no idea the difference this type of work, this intense and chaotic nomad life that we’re leading… And sometimes we question things…. These last days we’ve been questioning ourselves, our reasons… hopefully, in a near future, we’ll find a positive answer to our concerns… unfortunately, not today… not now… Take care, and thanks again for sharing your thoughts honoring Anne – adding a name and a face to this tragedy…

  8. newmanmccray97159 April 8, 2016 at 5:41 am #

    Kan bara su00e4ga…wow..med dina tru00e4nings minuter..Hur hinner du det??nDu u00e4r ju00e4tte duktig som ku00e4mpar..Och vet du ?!!nDu u00e4r men blir skitsnygg nu00e4sta vinter i din nya jacka**lernKu00e4mpa ku00e4mpa och pepp i massornkramizar Come on http://tropaadet.dk/newmanmccray97159081830

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Death Of A Foreign Service Member | Nomads By Nature - April 6, 2013

    […] troops and civilians. The blog THE PARTITION writes a beautiful piece about this young woman that you can read here. I don’t think I knew her personally. Al did.  As of yet she is unnamed, but even so my […]

  2. Close to Home | Kitty Non Grata - April 7, 2013

    […] Death of a Foreign Service Officer […]

  3. Quote of the Day: Death of a Foreign Service Officer | The Moderate Voice - April 7, 2013

    […] Quote of the Day comes from the blog The Partition. It’s a post called “The Death of a Foreign Service […]

  4. Quote of the Day: Death of a Foreign Service Officer | The Penn Ave Post - April 7, 2013

    […] at 9:48 on April 7, 2013 by Our Quote of the Day comes from the blog The Partition. It’s a post called “The Death of a Foreign Service Officer”: When I heard the initial reports that […]

  5. RIP Anne Smedinghoff: Older men declare war. But it is youth that must fight and die. | Diplopundit - April 8, 2013

    […] The Partition: The Death of a Foreign Service Officer […]

Leave a Reply

